Qbasicnews.com
Barcode Program - Printable Version

+- Qbasicnews.com (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum)
+-- Forum: QBasic (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: QB Projects (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: Barcode Program (/thread-2960.html)



Barcode Program - mikkeey123 - 01-12-2004

I'm still trying to get a barcode program and have come a little way

Code:
OPEN "COM1: 2400,N,8,1,BIN" FOR INPUT AS 1

When you run the program it goes to the black screen. If you don't touch anything it will say "DEVICE TIME-OUT", but if you press the button on the barcode scanner it will say "PRESS ANY KEY TO CONTINUE". QBasic is recieciving input from the barcode scanner, but how do you make the code appear on the screen?


Barcode Program - Zack - 01-12-2004

Well, I don't know anything about barcode scanners, but...
Code:
ON COM (1) GOTO labelName
I think that will jump to labelName when things are coming from the COM port 1.


Barcode Program - Agamemnus - 01-12-2004

My guess is that there are two parts to it: one that is a string and one that is a number, and you are only accessing the number. Try to change the settings...


Barcode Program - Hexadecimal Disaster - 01-12-2004

My guess is that he's not accesing anything, because he's not GETting what he needs to get. Got it? Tongue


barcode question - dadsherm - 01-14-2004

Are you using the "a$ = inkey$" as opposed to what ever you're currently using, ( Line Input, Input...etc.)? If not, you may want to use that instead. That's what I use for my own programs involving a (barcode) scanner. I'll try a program using my old scanner,(which I can hook up to a serial port), and see what I come up with.
Is there a certain reason you need to access the scanner via a modem or can you just use a serial port ?
(This was added 1-14-2004)
I should have said that the "type" of connecter(sp?) is serial.
This isn't the same as a "serial" port. My apologies. These are the same stlye, and size, as a modem input port.
What this connecter does, is allow the scanner to be plugged into a "serial" mouse port. I don't know for certain, but I would guess that a PS2 style adapter would also be available.


Scanner - mikkeey123 - 01-14-2004

I am using a scanner that is in (COM1). I have another program that I got from someone, but it isn't working. When I have some time I will psot it in here.


Barcode Program - TheBigBasicQ - 01-14-2004

Would you mind posting the specs of the barcode reader from its manual or some technical info about it? I dont think you will be able to make an interface just out of the blue.


Bacode Scanner - mikkeey123 - 01-15-2004

O.K it is a Symbol LT1720. I don't know if that helps any