Qbasicnews.com
Chaser - Printable Version

+- Qbasicnews.com (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum)
+-- Forum: QBasic (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: QB Projects (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: Chaser (/thread-3.html)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9


Chaser - Zmisk - 05-08-2002

One question Oinkerwinkle, did you remove the < > keys for changing the speed? If you did it please put them back, the game runs to fast on my computer!


Chaser - BlueKeyboard - 05-08-2002

Doesn't the game test the speed before the game starts?.
The speed is good on my computer.


Chaser - BlueKeyboard - 05-08-2002

I have found another bug, but it isn't anything serious.
It's just that when you press esc in the game and choose main menu, the game crashes becouse the game tries to chain a file named chase.exe, but the game's name is chaser.exe.


Bug Responses - Oinkerwinkle - 05-08-2002

I fixed the CHAIN bug. The <> keys still work on my computer.... can everyone else test them to see if their working?

Progress on the moving stars in going slowly... I haven't had much time. Also, the stars are making it blinky!


Chaser - BlueKeyboard - 05-08-2002

You could use screen 7, and use pcopy.


Chaser - meritmonster - 05-08-2002

What about stars flying at you? Maybe you could have a config file or something so you can change the settings like sound and star movement etc


.. - Lachie Dazdarian - 05-08-2002

You need a multi key handler.Really NEED it.Use a library.Like
RelLib.

Use

IF RelKey(&H21) then ....

'21 would be a keyboard scan code of the key you want(check QBasic help file - contest )
Just put &H before every keyboard scan code used with RelKey.
It works great!I also must check the last version to see if you made an AI.It's really easy to code it for such game.If i could code an AI for Ritual Combat so can you for Chaser.

Download RelLib and start QBasic with qb/l rel
You will need to type in the path to Rellib after that(place where you uncompressed it).

http://www.surfsites.net/qbhost/


Multikey - Oinkerwinkle - 05-09-2002

I have a multikey in... is the RelLib one better than other ones? Which version of Chaser do you have? AI has been in for a long time.

I got moving stars in somewhat, and it is disorienting.

www.angelfire.com/co4/chaser/home.html


Chaser - Lachie Dazdarian - 05-09-2002

...just cheked the newest version.

You call that AI?!?

I mean it just moves randomly.If you play with your foot fingers you might have some problems avoiding AI opponent but when you chase him...you can do it blind.

Work on it!It needs improvement!

As for you multikey thing....well if you are using multikey routine then your phisics need improvement.It's very difficult and annoying to control your Star.I would reccoment you work on that thing too(phisics).

Also please disable that delay thing in menus which you use to type the menu title slowly.I have an old PC and it takes me 5 minutes to get to the game.


Grrrrrrrrr.... - Oinkerwinkle - 05-09-2002

Cry
What would you recommend for the AI? I've never made one before this, so I was kind of groping my way through it. If it's too easy, you might try turning up the speed.

What should I change about the physics? I'm using the Multikey by Milo Sedlacek.