Qbasicnews.com
Creating Games using Q-Basic - Printable Version

+- Qbasicnews.com (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum)
+-- Forum: QBasic (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-4.html)
+--- Forum: QB Projects (http://qbasicnews.com/newforum/forum-12.html)
+--- Thread: Creating Games using Q-Basic (/thread-6616.html)

Pages: 1 2


Creating Games using Q-Basic - SnakeZ - 03-25-2005

Hey guys i was just wondering would anyone care to show me how to create games using q-basic. I have no idea how its done but i would really like to learn.

And i saw in an example there is a do graphics function. How do these thing work?


Creating Games using Q-Basic - TheDarkJay - 03-25-2005

read the tutorials at http://www.qbasicnews.com, they should show you all you need to know, post this in the newbie topic next time if you please.


Re: Creating Games using Q-Basic - Rattrapmax6 - 03-26-2005

Quote:And i saw in an example there is a do graphics function. How do these thing work?

Never heard of those, heh, you have:

LINE (x1, y1)-(x2, y2), color , info*
CIRCLE (x, y), radius, color
PSET (x, y), color

* info ", B" = Block,.. ", BF" = Blocked filled

If you want to learn QB, then go here:
http://www.petesqbsite.com/sections/tutorials/beginners.shtml

Then when you get the hang of that, Pete has 600+ more tuts on another page.. those ones I gave you will get you started.. :wink:

Also, I suggest you look into FreeBasic, 99% the exact same, and much more room to work in... My avatar was made with it, that looks nice aye? :wink:

Edit: Heh, not my new avatar, the horse,.. :wink: ,.. switched it..


Creating Games using Q-Basic - Mitthrawnuruodo - 03-26-2005

I recommend Pete's too.

Rattra, your wrong.
Its CIRCLE step (x,y) radius, color, start, end, aspect

Step, color, start, end, and aspect are optional.

Go to QB, open help, contents, functional keyword lists, display grapic images

That's basically all the grapics QB does is in there.

You also got BSAVE, BLOAD, GET, PUT, SCREEN (most important!), etc.


Creating Games using Q-Basic - j2krei08 - 03-26-2005

I learned completely on my own.

Actually, I stumbled upon QBasic when I was searching the hard drive of my i486X a while back.

Here's how it started:
I got this computer from my godmother about 2 years ago. It had Win95 and 3.11, but I accidentally uninstalled 3.11. One day, I was in Explorer, and I noticed a small little folder called "DOS". I opened it, then saw the name "qbasic.exe" and I double-clicked it. I'm a fast learner, and in about 2 weeks I had everything down.

What I'm trying to say is that most everything you need to know can simply be stumbled upon, say when looking at other programs, fooling around with commands, etc. Basically it's all logic.

Just for kicks, here's the specs on RADIUM-V (that's what I call my computer)

Intel 486X 33MHz processor
6mb RAM (7mb if not running W95)
425mb Hard drive compressed to a total of 600 MB (with host)
Win95 with Microsoft Plus!
3 1/2 floppy
5 1/4 floppy
newly installed CD drive

A directory, games, about 20mb of freeware and shareware games from http://Dosgames.com (all copied from one computer to this with a single floppy, back and forth and back and forth and back and forth and...)

And, of course, QBasic 4.5!

And, I was the one who inspired Pyrokid to use QBasic (he started with HTML, but asked for more when he saw my BOWLING), and now he's better than me!

I say if you want to use QBasic, I'm already a fan of your creations.


Creating Games using Q-Basic - Mitthrawnuruodo - 03-27-2005

There's no way you could have gotton ALL of QB down in two weeks!
You seriously can't know every command, every prgramming technique, EVERY algo!!!! Tongue


Creating Games using Q-Basic - j2krei08 - 04-01-2005

Of course not. But, I got the basics down, partly because all of Qbasic is mainly logical.


Creating Games using Q-Basic - Mitthrawnuruodo - 04-02-2005

Ya I know, I was kiddin. Tongue

I taught myself HTML in 1 afternnon, Javascript in 1 weekend Big Grin


Creating Games using Q-Basic - TheDarkJay - 04-02-2005

hang on a minute, it just struck me he might be on about compiling it into an .exe

If so you either need Quickbasic 4.5 or 7.1 (this is illegal though, not that microsoft actually give a f u c k whether you use it or not) or get freeBASIC which is VERY compatible with QB, more powerful, can do more etc.


Creating Games using Q-Basic - Pyrokid - 04-07-2005

Quote:And, I was the one who inspired Pyrokid to use QBasic (he started with HTML, but asked for more when he saw my BOWLING), and now he's better than me!

Thank you