Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Project SET
Hi im new here but i didn't see an introduction section.  But anyway to the point im doing a project in my comp sci class.  I am doing the game set and i can't figure out a way to make in this case im testing with text, to make the text appear in one one place and when it gets removed to replace it with the new text in a randomized fashion.  I will make an attachment for the code.  If any of you could help it would be very much appreciated.  Also for whatever reason im not very good with arrays :/

(11-25-2007, 02:00 AM)Tia link Wrote:to make the text appear in one one place and when it gets removed to replace it with the new text in a randomized fashion

Please explain "in a randomized fashion".

You mean the next text should be at some random place on the screen? In that case
locate 1+int(rnd*24),1+int(rnd*(80-len(q$))): print Q$

Right?

Mac
Actually what i mean is say the board is - 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 - say 1, 2, and 3 need to be removed because they make a set (ill explain a little later what that means but for now its unnecessary) how would i get the board to place 3 more random numbers (or text) in their place so that the board would be Number number number 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12.  So i wouldn't be moving it i just want it to clear that Number (or text) and replace it with the new Number (or text) in the same position but it would chose the number (or text) randomly.  If that isn't clear enough i can make a Screenshot to show it visually.
Well, I finally found a description of "Set" at http://www.setgame.com/set/rules_set.htm

Dang! That was hard to find. Never heard of the game, and "set" is a very common word. Might as well have named that game "the" or "is".

Anyway, it appears you have a deck consisting of cards that four attributes and three values for each attribute.

Getting away from all the red/green/squiggle,solid,etc. mumbo-jumble, we can say the cards are
1 1 1 1
1 1 1 2
1 1 1 3
1 1 2 1