Posts: 2
Threads: 2
Joined: May 2008
I am trying to write a program that the user enters 4465 and the program checks to make sure that the same digits is not used twice in the number. So in this case, the program would reject the number because there is 2 fours. Any idea how to do this?
Posts: 544
Threads: 27
Joined: Jan 2005
05-13-2008, 10:35 AM
(This post was last modified: 06-01-2008, 12:59 AM by Ralph.)
This program does not allow one to enter any previously entered digit:
Code: REMÂ Program omision error detected by Moneo and corrected by Ralph on June 1, 2008, as remarked on below
CLS
PRINT
PRINT " This program allows entering a number with from 1 to 10 digits, but "
PRINT " it only accepts entry of digits that have not been used before"
PRINT
PRINT " Type in your number, digit by digit. When done, press Enter ";
DIM n(20) AS INTEGER
DO
again:
 k$ = "": WHILE k$ = "": k$ = INKEY$: WEND
 IF k$ = CHR$(13) THEN EXIT DO 'new line, from Moneo's input
 IF k$ < "0" OR k$ > "9" THEN GOTO again
 i = i + 1
 n(i) = VAL(k$)
 FOR j = 1 TO i - 1
  IF n(j) = n(i) THEN
   i = i - 1
   GOTO again
  END IF
 NEXT j
 PRINT k$;
LOOP 'modified, due to Moneo's input
system
Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Posts: 61
Threads: 11
Joined: Apr 2008
You could go like this:
Code: CLS
PRINT "ENTER A NUMBER AND I WILL TELL YOU IF THERE ARE ANY REPEATS:";
LINE INPUT A$
DIM NUMBERS(9) AS INTEGER
FOR B = 1 TO LEN(A$)
IF NUMBERS(VAL(MID$(A$,B,1))) = 1 THEN REPEAT = 1
IF NUMBERS(VAL(MID$(A$,B,1))) = 0 THEN NUMBERS(VAL(MID$(A$,B,1))) = 1
NEXT B
IF REPEAT = 1 THEN PRINT "THE NUMBER HAS A REPEAT"
IF REPEAT = 0 THEN PRINT "THE NUMBER DOSN'T HAVE ANY REPEATS"
SYSTEM
WHILE RPG$ <> "complete" : make up silly excuses :WEND
Posts: 1,956
Threads: 65
Joined: Jun 2003
Here's a version with more error checking and complete reporting of duplicated digits.
Regards..... Moneo
''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
dim dup(0 to 9)
input "Enter series of numbers "; n$
if n$="" then print "Error: null entry."  ystem
for x=1 to len(n$)
  d$=mid$(n$,x,1)
  if d$<"0" or d$>"9" then print "Invalid digit(s) found."  ystem
  d=val(d$)
  dup(d)=dup(d)+1
next x
for x=0 to 9
  if dup(x)>1 then gotdups=1:print "digit";x;"repeated";dup(x);"times."
next x
if gotdups=0 then print "No duplicate digits found."
system
Posts: 544
Threads: 27
Joined: Jan 2005
LPG and Moneo:
Seems as though techdude2007 has either not received any notification on any of our three posts, or that he has his answer(s) and believes that's the end of the story. Nothing new, as I see this happen, now and then. But, sometimes there is a valid reason for a long delay in answering...we'll see.Â
Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Posts: 440
Threads: 65
Joined: Sep 2001
Well, here's another one ...
Quote:Entry:Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â Â
 INPUT "Enter a number: ", num   ' Get a number entry only
 num$ = STR$(num)           ' Convert it to a string
 FOR s = 1 TO LEN(num$) - 1     ' Step through string.
  h$ = MID$(num$, s, 1)        ' Get a nibble here...
  t$ = MID$(num$, s + 1, 1)     ' ...and a nibble there.
  IF h$ = t$ THEN            ' If both are the same,
   PRINT "Duplicate! Re-enter!"  ' then say so ...
   GOTO Entry              ' ...and go back.
  END IF
 NEXT
 PRINT "No duplicates found."    ' If you make it here, all OK.
Posts: 1,956
Threads: 65
Joined: Jun 2003
Dav,
I think your solution assumes that the duplicate numbers are adjacent, like 4465. But, what if they are not adjacent, like 4654?
Regards..... Moneo
Posts: 440
Threads: 65
Joined: Sep 2001
Oops...I read the thread too quickly and failed to fully see what was asked for. My apologies to all.Â
- Dav
Posts: 544
Threads: 27
Joined: Jan 2005
Hi, Moneo! What's wrong with my proposed solution?
Ralph, using QuickBASIC 4.5 and Windows XP Home Edition and Service Pack 2, with HP LaserJet 4L printer.
Posts: 1,956
Threads: 65
Joined: Jun 2003
Ralph,
The way you have it just goes into an endless loop. What happens is that the chr$(13) is caught by the test if less than "0" or greater than "9", and thus the chr$(13) is never seen later by the LOOP UNTIL.
If you put the test for chr$(13) right after the INKEY line, then it works.
You can relace the LOOP UNTIL with a plain LOOP.
Regards..... Moneo
|