Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Help with inputting multidimensional string arrays....
Hi. I am very new to c/c++ and I need some help. Can someone show me how to make a program that has a mulidimensional array of strings so I can keep a list of names, and then input x ammount of names. So, I would have like a prompt that says "How many names do you wan't to enter: " and then you type in the names and then you go through a for loop statement and type all the names. Then it would show each name you typed in. Here's what I have so far (but I can't even get it to run because I don't know what I'm doing):

Code:
#include "stdafx.h"
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <conio.h>

int main()
{
    int number;
    int i;
    char tname[100];

printf("How many names do you want to enter: ");
    scanf("%d", &number);

char *names[number];
    for(i=0,i<number,i++)
    { names=(char *) malloc (100); }

for(i=0,i<number,i++)
    {
        printf("Name %d: ", i);
        scanf(" %s", &tname);
        strcpy(names[i], &tname);
    }

while (!kbhit()) {}
    free(names);
    return 0;
}

also, what is stdafx.h
am: "Where should I put this thing so that it doesn't hurt anyone we know or care about?"
Max:"Out the window, Sam. There's nobody but strangers out there."
just remember char arrays are "strings" so you have to have char variable[stringsNum][stringLength]
am an asshole. Get used to it.
I don't understand what you are trying to tell me.
am: "Where should I put this thing so that it doesn't hurt anyone we know or care about?"
you char tname[100] is just one string of length 100. you make 10 strings of length 100, you would have to do this: char stringArray[10][100]
am an asshole. Get used to it.
Your almost there typosoft, just a few things wrong.

First off, malloc is defined in stdlib.h, including it will remove errors about malloc returning the wrong type.