Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dual Booting Windows XP and 95
I'm an absolute beginner to the idea of dual booting.
However, since I recently encountered difficulties (i.e. doesn't work at all) with the graphics.h standard header file that comes with C/C++, I want to install Windows 95 as well on my currently XP machine.
How do I do this? I know I need to get Windows 95 first...I can get that. But after that, what do I do? I'm completely lost here.
f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
Zack: First of all you would need to decide whether you want to install Win95 on a seperate hdd (provided you have one available) or make a seperate partition for Win95. You may also decide to use an emulation software such as VMware, and avoid the hassles of having to repartition or find a seperate hdd.
Quuskia - digital princess
THere is an easy way, but you need to use FDISK which is not very user friendly.

Basicly, you take your HDD and make two partitions. In the so called "primary" partition you have to install Windows 95. In the so called "extended" partition you have to install Windows XP.

What I do can be sum up it these steps:

1.- You need a full featured Windows 95 boot disk (not just one FORMAT /S, but one with FORMAT, FDISK and CDROM support. You can make one from control panel->Install/Remove programs* )

(*) Not sure how it is called, my windows is in Spanish.

2.- Once you have it, leave it on the drive and reboot. When prompted, answer that you wanna boot *without* CDROM support.

3.- Enter FDISK. You'll have to use option 3 to remove current partition. This will destroy all data in the HDD, so make your backups before.

4.- Then use options 1 and 2 to create the primary partition first (with, say, 2 or 3 Gigs for Windows 95) and the extended partition second (with plenty of space).