Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Print and "?"
I just learnt a tip which is quite curious... When you type "?", Qb replaces it automatically by "PRINT".

Two questions :
1) Was that intentionally programmed in QB ?
2) Are there other tips of that kind ?
hink Global, Make Symp' All ! ®
[Image: Banner.gif]
Yeah, it was hardcoded inside QB. It worked in GW-Basic and Locomotive Basic interpreters, as well, and I think that in MSX-Basic and C64 Basic as well. It is somewhat old and just to save time.

As for more shortcuts... I don't know about anything but that ?.
SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
seriously? If you type in ? it automatically changes to PRINT!? jeez that is weird I didn't know that and I've been fiddling with QBASIC for like 5 years now!
ovaProgramming.

One night I had a dream where I was breaking balls. The next morning, BALLSBREAKER was born.

Quote: Excellent. Now you can have things without paying for them.

BALLSBREAKER 2
~-_-Status Report-_-~
Engine: 94%
Graphics: 95%
Sound: 100%
A Severe Error has crippled BB2 for the time being... I have to figure it out, but until then you won't see much of it Sad.
-----------------------------
"?" comes from the first basic ever http://www.truebasic.com

Be careful, in QB it only works because IDE changes them automatically to PRINT. If you write your program with an editor and compile it from the command line, the compiler will issue errors at every ?
Antoni
heh...i discovered the ? trick a few months ago when I was trying to find easter eggs in the IDE :bounce:
f only life let you press CTRL-Z.
--------------------------------------
Freebasic is like QB, except it doesn't suck.
there is one easter egg in the ide that displays credits, but you need a very, very, slow computer to pull it off. i spent two hours in a dos emulator on the slowest setting trying to activate it.