Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
clearing a record question
type teamrecord
teamid as string * 15
end type
dim team as teamrecord

I have a masterfile program that inputs and changes data. I have written it so that if it is decided to change data and the return key is pressed, that data field is not changed. My problem is, after one record is entered, and you go into adding another record, the data from the previous record is still in the type record (team). What is the best way to clear out the teamrecord?? Should I erase team and then dim it again after I put it??
Why do you need to physically delete it? Just mark it as empty and overwrite its contents when new DATA is required to be added.
SCUMM (the band) on Myspace!
ComputerEmuzone Games Studio
underBASIC, homegrown musicians
[img]http://www.ojodepez-fanzine.net/almacen/yoghourtslover.png[/i
Sorry for the ignorance, but what do you mean mark it as empty?? Set each field to "" ? Some of my records have a lot of fields. I set currentvalue$=race.teamname ect... before you input the field, so that when you are changing fields and you just hit the enter key the value does not change it gets set to what currentvalue$ is equal to.
I can check to see if it is a new record or existing record. If existing then set the currentvalue$ else don't set it. I was just looking for other ideas.

thanks
To mark a record add a field "Status" or something like that, then use symbollic values, for example "0" = empty, "1" = not empty, "2" = deleted... etc

That way you can always mark as "empty" when "deleting", and on writing just ask if it is "empty". If so, write. That way you are saving time to physically delete it. That's what's made on disk drives, for example. Time is precious and you don't have to physically delete the data, just overwrite it if it is not longer needed.