Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hehehe...my own car mod... ;)
I'm not a car expert and I have no real interest in modding cars, but one thing I do know a bit about is electronics. Rhia and I have one of those portable MP3 players that plays files off of a CDROM, and the bloody thing is so flaky that it's worth kicking across the street. Instead of spending $200+ on one of those ROM-based suckas, I've decided instead to convert a laptop computer into an MP3 player. Big Grin Here's the basic idea:
  • The laptop will be de-cased and put in a new casing built by me for this purpose. This casing is being specially designed to accomodate the many bumps and holes in PR roads, so the mainboard and hard drive will be virtually invincible to shock. This unit will be placed in the trunk.
    A touchscreen LCD will be seated in the area where a normal car stereo would go (our stereo doesn't work, so it's the perfect place for this) and the wiring will run to the back.
    Custom software written by yours truly will power the machine. The hard drive is 3GB, only 50 or so of which will be required to run the machine itself, so the rest can be filled with music. Also, I might incorporate an IDE2USB option to expand its storage capabilities further.
    The line out will be connected to a standard amplifier, which will run to the standard speakers.