Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Directories....
I have about 5 years of qbasic experience, however the question I have is extremely noobish :roll: , so here goes it:
How do you get the directory that the exe is executing from? You know, so that you can avoid hard coding directories?
Thanks. Smile
[Image: freebasic.png]
I wrote some code to do this a while back:

[syntax="QBasic"]
' A program to get the current directory and store it in a string.
' The main function is GetCurDir$
'

DECLARE FUNCTION GetCurDir$ ()
CLS
PRINT "Current directory: " + GetCurDir$

FUNCTION GetCurDir$
'
' GetCurDir$
' Coded by shiftLynx (Chris Davies) [12th Aug 2004]
' c.g.davies@gmail.com
'

' Create a string to store our assembly code in
DIM asmcode AS STRING * 27

' and a string to store the output from the asm code
DIM currentdir AS STRING * 512

' Get the segment and offset of the currentdir string
cdseg% = VARSEG(currentdir)
cdoff% = VARPTR(currentdir)

' Get the low and high bytes of cdseg%
cdsegb1% = cdseg% AND &HFF
cdsegb2% = (cdseg% \ &H100) AND &HFF

' Get the low and high bytes of cdoff%

cdoffb1% = cdoff% AND &HFF
cdoffb2% = (cdoff% \ &H100) AND &HFF

' First we need to get the current drive with this code...
'
'
' PUSHAD
' MOV AH, 0x19
' INT 0x21
' ADD AL, 0x41
' MOV BX, [cdseg]
' MOV ES, BX
' MOV DI, [cdoff]
' MOV [ESBig GrinI], AL
' POPAD
' RETF
'
asmcode = CHR$(&H66) + CHR$(&H60) + CHR$(&HB4) + CHR$(&H19) + CHR$(&HCD) + CHR$(&H21) + CHR$(&H4) + CHR$(&H41) + CHR$(&HBB) + CHR$(cdsegb1%) + CHR$(cdsegb2%) + CHR$(&H8E) + CHR$(&HC3) + CHR$(&HBF) + CHR$(cdoffb1%) + CHR$(cdoffb2%) + CHR$(&H26) + _
CHR$(&H88) + CHR$(&H5) + CHR$(&H66) + CHR$(&H61) + CHR$(&HCB)

' Execute the code
DEF SEG = VARSEG(asmcode)
CALL ABSOLUTE(VARPTR(asmcode))
DEF SEG

' Now we have the drive letter - keep track of it
retval$ = MID$(currentdir, 1, 1) + ":\"

' Next we need the current directory...
'
' PUSHAD
' MOV AH, 0x47
' XOR DL, DL
' INT 0x21
' MOV AX, [cdseg]
' MOV ES, AX
' MOV DI, [cdoff]