Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Pause?
I'm new to QBASIC, but I've done quite a bit (for a 14 year old w/ extra time in math class) of programming with a TI-83 calculator. Isn't that TI-BASIC? I'm just wondering if there's a PAUSE command where the application pauses (wow, that's why it's called PAUSE!) until the user hit's enter/any key, whichever is easier.

Any help?

I've seen TIMER around, how does this work?

I don't want something where I say wait 3 seconds then move on to the next task, I want it so the user can just hit enter and move on.
It's called SLEEP. You can put a number afterwards to make it wait that many seconds or until a key is pressed.

That's only in 4.5 or above, so in 4.0 and lower, just do this: DO: LOOP UNTIL LEN(INKEY$)
am an asshole. Get used to it.
WHILE INKEY$ = "": WEND
TIMER is a function that returns the number of seconds that have passed since midnight (by your system clock's time). So you could go PRINT TIMER and you will get some value.

Uses of timer include:
  • Using it with the RANDOMIZE statement to create a 'random seed'. This makes numbers that QB generates with the RND statement well, more random than normal (but not completely random). eg:
    Code:
    FOR x = 1 to 10
      PRINT RND
    NEXT x

Run this code a few times, and then run with a RANDOMIZE TIMER statement at the start, and you will see what I mean.
  • Using it to make a pause in a game for example that is always the same length on every computer regardless of speed. eg:
    Code:
    t# = TIMER
    WHILE t# + 2.5 > TIMER: WEND
    Will make a pause that is 2.5 seconds long on all computers.

I suggest you check out QBasic help if you have it, else download some tutorials on QBasic (reccomended), or, *gulp*, try the QBasicnews faq