Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Differences Between QBasic and QuickBasic?
Hi,

I'm using the QuickBasic 4.5 compiler, but I'm studying a QBasic Book. The QBasic works without any problems on the QuickBasic compiler, so I was hoping someone could tell me what the basic differences are between QBasic and QuickBasic.

Are there commands, or something else that I'm missing because I'm reading the QBasic book? Is there something more to QuickBasic than there is in just QBasic?

Oh, by the way, I'm sure you can already guess that I'm new to programming. The QBasic book is very good for a start, but does QuickBasic support a better way to code graphics? I'm still stuck on the graphics issue. I have a game that I've designed (a very simple game), but the QBasic book that I bought doesn't have enough information to get me started in coding the simple graphics that I need.

Thank you,
BeaglepackGP
John 1-1: "In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God."
*sigh*

Qbasic is QuickBasic. the "Q" in "QBasic" stands for "Quick". so you won't have any problems with the compiler if your using a "QBasic" book.

Check out some of the tutorials on this site to get some good general information about programming and Graphics with QB (Means QBasic (QuickBasic)). here is the link to the tutorials.

http://qbasicnews.com/tutorials.php

-Mech
the mind is a beautiful thing, use it and make the world a more beautiful place.
Great! Thanks a lot. I'll check out that link right now!

I appreciate your help.

BeaglepackGP
John 1-1: "In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God."
Hey... Nice to see ya here! :bounce:
Quote:*sigh*

Qbasic is QuickBasic. the "Q" in "QBasic" stands for "Quick". so you won't have any problems with the compiler if your using a "QBasic" book.

Not true. QuickBasic and QBasic are different product lines. QBasic 1.0 came after QuickBasic 4.5.

Read more and learn: http://www.download-qb.tk